Traces AIR Antwerpen

The Cabinet of Traces book launch

On Sunday 2 September the book launch of The Cabinet of Traces takes place. This publication is the follow up of AIR Traces, published in 2012, and oversees the residencies and activities between 2013-18. The Cabinet of Traces is a collection of 73 traces, consciously left behind by artists in residence, existing out of objects, drawings, artworks, letters and clothes. The publication mimics a catalogue of an ethnographic collection and thus includes technical details such as: catalogue number, material, size, title and name of the artist. Every trace has his own story. The Cabinet of Traces remembers these stories, but also nurtures new ones. The publication will be passed on to future artists in residence and their reaction will form the new contributions to the collection.

The book launch takes the form of a continuous performance, conceptualized and performed by the current artists in residence Maurice Doherty, Meryem Erkus, Garry Farrely, Tea Palmelund and Merle Vorwald. Throughout the day they will form the first new traces and add them to the publication. Like that every copy that will be purchased during the book launch, will be unique.

When: Sunday 2 September
Where: The Living Room
Kielsevest 25
2018 Antwerp
Time: 1pm - 5pm
+ bar open
+ Open Studios 2 - 7pm

Participating artists in the publication: Bisan Abu-Eisheh, Sidney Aelbrecht, Edgardo Aragón, Caner Aslan, Bianca Baldi, Pedro Barateiro, Line Boogaerts, Leda Bourgogne, Elen Braga, Post Brothers, Ella de Burca, Reg Carremans, Tom Castinel, Mike Cooper, Baptiste Croze, Maurice Doherty, Stijn Van Dorpe, Romana Drdová, Laurent Dupont-Garitte, Arnaud Eubelen, Simon Feydieu, Alberto García del Castillo, Geger, Shaun Gladwell, Rumiko Hagiwara, Harry Heirmans, Lodewijk Heylen, Nicholas Hoffman, Antoine Van Impe, Stine Marie Jacobsen, Philip Janssens, Ksenija Jovišević, Tomáš Kajánek, Nina Könnemann, Alexis Lagimodière-Grisé, Lennart Lahuis, Claire Liengme, Eva L’Hoest, Ilaria Lupo, Luis Lázaro Matos, Alice De Mont, Pages, Chantal Peñalosa, Bhagwati Prasad, Stefanie Pretnar, Laure Prouvost, André Romão, Darren Roshier, Fabian Rouwette, Joris De Rycke, Francesc Ruiz, Arin Rungjang, Savage, Hemant Sareen, Ani Schulze, Augustas Serapinas, Ryan Siegan-Smith, Mounira Al Solh, Ania Soliman, Rasmus Søndergaard Johanssen, Mathilde Du Sordet, Malthe Stigaard, Serra Tansel, Yan Tomaszewski, Dennis Tyfus, Luisa Ungar, Nicolas Valckenaere, Mirte Vanduppen, Naneci Yurdagül, Bruno Zhu

. Texts by Alan Quireyns, Koen Sels and an interview with Clémentine Deliss.

APE #113
Published by Art Paper Editions, Gent & AIR Antwerpen
11 × 18 cm, 224 p, ills colour,
paperback, dust jacket
ISBN 9789490800888
design: 6'56"
€ 18
edition of 500